A Useful Truth

That phrase has been floating around in my head for about a week now, “a useful truth.”

It started one day as I was preparing to do a reading. In addition to getting the cards in order, clearing the table, and making sure that I’m sufficiently calm prior to the reading hour, I ask for help and guidance from whomever/whatever might be involved in the Tarot reading process. It doesn’t matter to me who/what they/it are/is, I know they/it are/is there.

No wonder I need help, with a sentence like that.

Anyhoo, as I was making my little plea for assistance, I heard myself ask, among other things, that we bring forth “useful truths.” As soon as I heard it out loud, I recognized this as a particularly important element of a “good” Tarot reading.

Lots of things are true: the sky is blue, the type of car you drive, how much money you made last year, blah blah blah. A reading can be filled with lots of truths — a let’s hope it does — but sometimes it all sounds like a lot of blah blah blah. Where is the truth that makes us see things differently? Where is the truth that wakes us up? Where is the resonant truth? Where is the useful truth?

I’ll take back what I said about this being an important element of a good reading; conveying a useful truth is what makes a reading great. If a truth has become useful it means the client “gets it.” This means that a new thought has made an impact on someone’s psyche. Awareness shifts. Lives change.

And like the hokey-pokie, that’s what it’s all about.

Visit the TarotWorks website to learn how to use the Tarot to help you find the useful truths in your life. There’s tons of good information there, check it out!

Ace of Swords image from Tarot of the Sephiroth (c) US Games Systems Inc.

Leave a Reply

