Another Person’s Leap of Faith

This came across my desk this morning, in a newsletter from Deb Bergeron, who is a well-established life coach living and working in southern Maine. What you’ll read below is such a wonderful synopsis of what is needed – and what to do – in order to make a few dreams come true.  I’m reprinting a portion of her wisdom here, taking no credit for anything other than cutting and pasting text to send along to you:

A LEAP OF FAITH

… So please remember, no matter where you are in your transformative journey, I have been in your shoes. I have been in that place not quite somewhere and not quite everywhere, between quicksand and moonbeams, immobilization and rocket launch.

To celebrate this Anniversary, I am honored to share nine contributing factors and questions that helped propel me then, and continue to help me today, as like you, I am always growing and learning. Hopefully, they will inspire all of you to, “Look before you Leap”, but Leap none-the-less.

1) Choices! I told myself I didn’t have any. Does this sound familiar?  

 2) Courage! I was afraid to make changes. What lurks in your “unknown”?  

3) Cost! What was it going to cost me to stay where I was? What are your  Personal Expenses?  

4) Intuition! That little voice was screaming out and I had to pay attention. Do you have the sound turned down?  

5) Risk! Stepping out of the “comfort” zone reduced my safety factor. Are you afraid there’s no life boat should you make the plunge?  

6) Knowing my Strengths! I knew what I was good at and what my gifts were. Are you ready to recognize and celebrate yours?  

7) Fear! As doubt crept in I questioned my choices and intuition. What hurdles does fear set up in your path?  

8) Now! Through visualization, getting quiet, and journaling I grounded myself to pay attention to the moment. What tools do you use to leave the past behind?  

9) Willingness! I was ready to fax that letter of resignation. This Call to Action…this Doing was the accumulation of all of the above. Where’s your willingness level to make the Leap?  

Happy Spring to Action to All of You!

With love and gratitude, Deb

Here’s how to contact Deb and her business Ocean of Possibilites:
Deb Bergeron, CPCC, ACC – Personal Professional Life Coach

P.O. Box 15234, Portland, Maine 04112 –
Phone: 207-797-9007

Email: debcoaches@aol.com

4 Comments

  1. Josephine Mori said,

    April 12, 2012 at 12:15 PM

    Smoke ’em if ya got ’em.

  2. April 12, 2012 at 4:01 PM

    Wow, even though its been ($#@!) 50 years since I last saw this, something about it is so familiar. I hope I never get so old and crusty that I don’t appreciate bluebirds that make up a bed. As far as the dreaming and wishing, I think this article makes the point that if we’re going to wish and dream we’d better back it up by action, intention, and a bit of good timing. Maybe that’s where the Disney girls let us down: they’re big on the dreaming and wishing but they hang around and wait for a fairy godmother to come along and fix it for them….either that or the ubiquitous handsome prince. RESCUE ME doesn’t cut it any more, what a shame.

  3. April 12, 2012 at 4:26 PM

    PS Josephine: Thanks for bringing video to the page, very cool!

    • Josephine Mori said,

      April 12, 2012 at 7:08 PM

      I have no idea how I managed to include the video, and probably couldn’t do it again if I tried. Point well taken about fairy godmothers and handsome princes. On a non-esoteric level (esoteric being rather different), certainly those concepts reflect a cultural terrain where there was very little possible flux between stations of life and livelihood, ergo the requisite miraculous intervention for an improved lot. Nowadays and hereabouts, it’s every (wo)man for themselves. Personally, it’s the mouse that has to unknot his own tail upon arising that gets me. Hell, I know that’s how I start my day.

      As for Coach Bergeron’s advice, I hope for all concerned the “Look” before the “Leap”, in addition to all those fine introspective musings, includes a hard evaluation of compiled F—k You Money, as it’s affectionately known – especially as pertains to the faxing of resignation letters. “No matter where you are in your transformative journey, I have been in your shoes.” Oh? Indeed?

      PS. Did I just guest blog? If so, the opinions and statements above are solely my own and do not necessarily reflect those of the management.


Leave a Reply

