Jeanne’s Version of Creating a Tarot Deck

Here’s one of my work’s most FAQ: When are you going to create your own Tarot deck?

Here is my most frequent answer: Only after receiving a severe blow to the head.

I know people who have created their own Tarot decks. It takes years out of a person’s life, and I don’t even want to think about the massive amount of both inner and outer work required to create a “new-and-improved” version of Tarot that is worth the paper it’s printed on.

No thanks, I’ve got yard sales to attend.

And then along comes Pinterest, yet one more way for us to share with others the full fabric of our being; as if Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Yahoo, Bing, WordPress, Flickr, Foursquare, and the omnipresent Google have somehow been unable to get the job done.

BUT, Pinterest is a place where I can create the deck of my dreams! And it’s simple: use cards from decks that are ALREADY CREATED! Someone else has poured out their blood, sweat, and tears, and now I get to pick the bones.

Here’s a project I can embrace. Oh yes, I can compile, of that I am capable.

My deck is not a fait accompli, more a work in progress. And I must say, the whole thing is very satisfying! If you’re at all interested in the Tarot and the many ways that different cards are interpreted by different scholars/designers/artists/creators, not only do you need to take a look at my board, why not start one of your own?

Once the 78-pieces are all in place on my Pinterest board, I may have to go out and buy the various decks required to build the composite deck. Until then, being on the lookout for the next “Best Tarot Card of Its Kind” is almost as a satisfying as the Saturday morning yard sale hunt.

PS– In case you’re wondering about that colorful image at the top of this page, that’s the TarotWorks gift-wrapping paper I designed along with a friend in 2004. It’s great stuff– well made and beautiful. Not quite an example of a “severe blow to the head” moment, but close! Visit the TarotWorks site to see more about the gift wrap and other cool handmade Tarot goods.

The colorful image on the right is the Aliester Crowley Thoth Tarot’s version of the Two of Discs… best of its kind, in my opinion.

4 Comments

  1. Josephine Mori said,

    August 17, 2012 at 12:11 PM

    Delightful read — and pithy insight.

  2. August 17, 2012 at 1:44 PM

    Oh, I like “pithy!”

  3. September 15, 2012 at 3:30 AM

    Love this post. You can read about my adventures with my tarot card reader on my blog.

    • September 15, 2012 at 8:29 PM

      Thanks for checking out my blog, I’ll be sure to drive by your place soon~~


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 378 other followers

