Yard Sale Documentation Project: 5-19-12

Now we’re talking. It’s not like it was anything for the record books, but today’s adventures did live up to what we’ve come to expect by this time in the yard sale season: lots of choose from and some real bargains if you look hard enough … and if you arrive before the good meat has been picked from the bones.

We were at it bright and early, and it was a fine day for saleing — sunny, dry, not too hot, not too humid. At our first stop we ran into a woman with whom my daughter works and her friend, seen here as they were parting with their purchases. No they aren’t sisters, but I think they were having as much fun as Kate and I do with the whole affair. It’s amazing to me how cheery people can be at eight o-clock in the morning.

We found some good neighborhood sales, one where Kate picked up a brand new LL Bean backpack for $5, which is a great deal considering that the thing could have been returned to the main store for a full refund. (It’s a well-known fact in Maine that Bean’s will let you return pretty much anything that’s been used as long as it’s not totally in shreds.)

Part of the fun for me today was testing out how my new Nissan Versa hatchback handled itself, not only with the growing pile of goods we were accumulating, which was the point of getting a hatchback in the first place, but the sometimes-erratic nature of  “yard sale driving.” (It makes sense to spend thousands of dollars to have a suitable yard-saleing vehicle, right?)

“Yard sale driving” is really not good. There are lots of quick maneuvers, short stops, last-minute traffic decisions and bonehead moves involved. If I were behind me in traffic I’d be annoyed.

But when you see a brightly colored sign, or a pile of stuff on someone’s lawn, or a bunch of cars clustered on a side street, or in this case simply a big arrow painted on large piece of cardboard, you’ve gotta investigate … like a bloodhound on the trail of a mass murderer. Apparently this gentleman thought so too, so much so that he didn’t bother to get out of his pajamas before doing his reconnaissance.

We were out for almost 4 hours today. In addition to the goods tallied below, I had my fill of lemonade and cookies during the morning’s trek. Being a mush mom, I’m unable to say “no” to a kid who’s all set to make a quarter on a Dixie cup half-filled with some sort of tepid liquid that resembles lemonade. Especially if there’s been eye contact, I may as well cut the small talk and just fork over the money. Kate finds this amusing, as if I’ve just been hypnotized and said to the kid, “Why yes, I’d love a cup of warm pee.”

For me, much of the joy of yard saleing is sharing tender moments such as these with my daughter.

Anyway, here’s my part of the take from today’s efforts:

*A Rafaella angora/lambs wool sweater
*pair of gold earrings (not precious, but maybe from a museum gift shop)
*two ADORABLE painted wooden frogs
(why I had to have these I don’t know, but I love them!)
*pair of outdoor cushions for the porch chairs
*set of Tiffany-themed post cards
* misc. collection of printer paper for photos
* a beach umbrella, barely used and FREE since the seller was tired of dragging it around with her two kids and all their other stuff
* an office chair floor protector that will end up in my yard sale since it didn’t fit under my desk.

Total cost: $7.50
… but that’s not counting the cookies and 3 cups of warm pee.

4 Comments

  1. luddy83 said,

    May 20, 2012 at 10:19 PM

    Success!

  2. luddy83 said,

    May 21, 2012 at 8:16 AM

    On to bigger and better yard sales!

  3. June 23, 2012 at 5:48 PM

    [...] first glance it looked like the usual yard sale-related lemonade stand with its dicey offerings (see link), but there was something interesting about this [...]

  4. July 8, 2012 at 9:27 AM

    [...] yes, and one cup of lemonade from those 7-year-old hypnotists. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 378 other followers

